Learn the Distinction Between Food Labels – Non-dairy – And – Dairy-free

dairy free diet plan

The Difference Between Non-dairy and Dairy-free

Food labels can be confusing, especially when you’re new to purchasing items for a person with allergies or a restricted diet. In the dairy-free community, the terms “dairy-free” and “non-dairy” are often used interchangeably, but the terms represent very different things on food labels which can be life-threatening for a person with a dairy allergy or sensitivity.

Dairy-Free Products

While there is no Food & Drug Administration (FDA) regulatory explanation of what dai-free means on food labels, more often than not, a product with this label is actually dairy-free. Products that are labeled vegan should also be dairy-free, as vegan products contain no form of dairies like milk, eggs, or cheese.

Although you can feel relatively safe that when a label claims a product is dairy-free, it is indeed dairy-free, people on a dairy-free or vegan diet are encouraged to always read the label. Unfortunately, sometimes items are labeled incorrectly and include dairy-derived ingredients present in the food.

Examples of dairy-free products include:

  • Alternative milk like soy milk, almond milk, and coconut milk
  • Desserts like sherbet, frozen fruit bars, and angel food cake
  • Peanut butter, nuts, and seeds
  • Protein like beans, meat, and peas
  • Tofu products and soy cheeses
  • Vegetable and meat soups that are milk-free

Non-Dairy Items

There is an FDA regulatory explanation for the term non-dairy, but the regulation allows the presence of milk protein such as casein, whey, and other derivatives. Casein is the main protein found in milk, cheese, and other processed foods. Whey is the liquid part of milk that remains once it has been curdled and strained. You have likely come across non-dairy coffee creamers and non-dairy cheeses that contain casein, caseinates, whey, and other derivatives that are clearly not milk-free.

The phrase “non-dairy” came into FDA regulations as a result of the dairy industry. This is because the dairy industry did not want products that were dairy substitutes to be mistaken ​for actual dairy products, like cream and milk.

Following a Dairy-Free or Vegan Diet

It can feel impossible to follow a dairy-free or vegan diet, but more and more grocery stores and restaurants are providing products to make it easy. Try following this three-step action plan:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *